Back to Work

With the conference over now I can get back to work. In addition to the piles of grading and general catch up with class preparation, I have become concerned about using my institution’s LMS. I find the whole idea of a Learning Management System distasteful to begin with. How is an interface that delivers content and communication supposed to manage learning? And why would we want it to? I do think it may manage the creative and intellectual property of those of us employed by the institution, however, and I find that disturbing as well. So I have decided to host my own website that will house my courses and other things as yet to be determined. Thus far I have blogged anonymously…who knows, I may even move this over to the new site!

Has anyone out there had experience hosting their own courses and such? I have been reading ProfHacker posts and learning what I can.

About Cooking with Clio

I am a historian. I teach at a large Southern California University. I love to cook and garden and I have recently taken up sewing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

