Sewing hopes

On this election night I can’t concentrate to work, so I am thinking about the sewing I wish I was doing. I have some lovely, soft mini houndstooth wool that I hope to make into the pencil skirt from Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing. I also hope to make a blouse from the same book out of white cotton with black dots, rather like Gertie’s example but in cotton rather than silk. I have silk chiffon to make a Jasmine from Collette Patterns. I also sprang for the Thurlow Pants pattern from Sewaholic. I plan to make one of those from wool and another out of corduroy…so many winter fabrics in my stash!

I know that a number of folks have been sewing from Gertie’s book. Does anyone have any advice about scaling the patterns? I have a size 10 waist and a size 6 hips (I guess having a baby has made me less hourglass than I used to be).

About Cooking with Clio

I am a historian. I teach at a large Southern California University. I love to cook and garden and I have recently taken up sewing.
This entry was posted in Gertie's New Book for Better Sewing, New Patterns, sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

